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Virginia Board of Dentistry 

 

Policy on Recovery of Disciplinary Costs 
 

On December 11, 2020, the Board voted to not assess administrative costs for the calendar year 

2021.  

 

Applicable Law and Regulations 

 

• §54.1-2708.2 of the Code of Virginia.   
The Board of Dentistry (the Board) may recover from any licensee against whom disciplinary action 
has been imposed reasonable administrative costs associated with investigating and monitoring such 
licensee and confirming compliance with any terms and conditions imposed upon the licensee as set 
forth in the order imposing disciplinary action. Such recovery shall not exceed a total of $5,000. All 
administrative costs recovered pursuant to this section shall be paid by the licensee to the Board. 
Such administrative costs shall be deposited into the account of the Board and shall not constitute a 
fine or penalty.   

• 18VAC60-15-10 of the Regulations Governing the Disciplinary Process.  The Board may assess: 
o the hourly costs to investigate the case,  
o the costs for hiring an expert witness, and 
o the costs of monitoring a licensee’s compliance with the specific terms and conditions 

imposed up to $5,000, consistent with the Board’s published guidance document on 
costs.  The costs being imposed on a licensee shall be included in the order agreed to by 
the parties or issued by the Board. 

 

Policy 

 
1. Disciplinary costs will not be assessed for licensees receiving their first Board Order in which 

violations were found and sanctions were imposed. 
 

2. The maximum cost assessment for a dentist is $5,000. 
 

3. The maximum cost assessment for a dental hygienist is $1,250.  
  

4. In a second and any subsequent Order against a licensee, the Board will specify the 
administrative costs to be recovered from a licensee in each pre-hearing consent order offered 
and in each order entered following an administrative proceeding.  These administrative costs are 
in addition to the sanctions imposed which might include a monetary penalty.   
 

5. The amount of administrative costs to be recovered will be calculated using the assessment of 
costs specified below and will be recorded on a Disciplinary Cost Recovery Worksheet (the 
worksheet).  All applicable costs will be assessed as set forth in this guidance document.  Board 
staff shall complete the worksheet and assure that the cost to be assessed is included in Board 
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orders.  The completed worksheets shall be maintained in the case file.  Assessed costs shall be 
paid within 45 days of the effective date of the Order, unless a payment plan has been requested 
and approved. 

 

Assessment of Costs 

Based on the expenditures incurred in the state’s fiscal year which ended on June 30, 2018, the 
following costs will be used to calculate the amount of funds to be specified in a board order for 
recovery from a licensee being disciplined by the Board: 

• $103 per hour for an investigation multiplied by the number of hours the DHP Enforcement Division 
reports having expended to investigate and report case findings to the Board. 

• $182 per hour for an inspection conducted during the course of an investigation, multiplied by the 
number of hours the DHP Enforcement Division reports having expended to inspect the dental 
practice and report case findings to the Board.  

• If applicable, the amount billed by an expert upon acceptance by the Board of his expert report. 

• The applicable administrative costs for monitoring compliance with an order as follows:  
o $ 130.00  Base cost to open, review and close a compliance case   
o $  68.00   For each continuing education course ordered 
o $  19.00   For each monetary penalty and cost assessment payment 
o $  19.00   For each practice inspection ordered 
o $  39.00   For each records audit ordered 
o $ 118.00  For passing a clinical examination 
o $ 75.00  For each practice restriction ordered  
o $ 55.00  For each report required. 

 
Inspection Fee 
In addition to the assessment of administrative costs addressed above, a licensee shall be charged 
$350 for each Board-ordered inspection of his practice as permitted by 18VAC60-21-40 of the 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry. 
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